Posted by Nigeria Direct on 2009/02/14 | Views: 2329 |

Nigeria is a Federal Republic comprising 36 states and the Federal Capital territory, Abuja. Until 1991, the city of Lagos was the Capital of Nigeria. As a result of congestion due to its dual capacity as both the economic and political capital of Nigeria as well as the prevalence of waters (Lagoons, the Atlantic ocean) further re-expansion and development became impossible.

Justice Aguda Panel was therefore constituted by Murtala Obasanjo Administration in 1975 to locate a suitable site central to all sections of the country for a new Capital territory. This in a nutshell explains how the new Federal Capital Territory of Abuja came into being and Measuring 800/kilometer square, the Federal Capital Territory is a fusion of huge expanse of land from Kogi, Nasarawa, Plateau and Niger States and it is at the epicenter of Nigeria.

Click below for information about each state:

1.  Abia
2.  Adamawa
3.  Akwa Ibom
4.  Anambra
5.  Bauchi
6.  Bayelsa
7.  Benue
8.  Borno
9.  Cross River
10. Delta
11. Ebonyi
12. Edo
13. Ekiti
14. Enugu
15. Gombe
16. Imo
17. Jigawa
18. Kaduna
19. Kano
20. Katsina
21. Kebbi
22. Kogi
23. Kwara
24. Lagos
25. Nasarawa
26. Niger
27. Ogun
28. Ondo
29. Osun
30. Oyo
31. Plateau
32. Rivers
33. Sokoto
34. Taraba
35. Yobe
36. Zamfara