Posted by Nigeria Direct on 2009/02/15 | Views: 657 |


Governor: Mohammed Danjuma Goje (PDP)

Deputy Governor: John Lazarus Yoriyo

Date Created: October 1, 1996

Capital: Gombe

Main Towns: Gombe Kaltungo

Gombe State was created by the Abacha Administration on October 1, 1996.

The state was carved out of Bauchi state. Gombe state shares boundaries with Yobe state to the north, Bomo and Adamawa states to the east and Bauchi state to the west and Taraba State to the south.

Gombe state has 11 local government areas. They are Akko, Balanga, Billiri, Dukku, Kaltungo, Kwami, Shomgom, Funakaye, Gombe, Nafada/Bajoga and Yamaltu/Delta.

Gombe is blessed with a lot of human and material resources and a great potential for economic development. One of the industries in the state is the Gombe Oil seeds Company.

The people of Gombe grow crops like millet, corn, rice and guinea corn. Their method of farming is irrigation farming with the help of dams.

The government of Gombe provides health services for the people. There are hospitals, private clinics and health centres in the state.

Education is a top priority in the state. There are a number of primary and secondary schools. There is also a tertiary college in the state - Federal College of Education Gombe.

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (11)

Ulunma akor(Imo, Lagos, Nigeria)says...

Ulunma means beautiful second daughter


Do You Need A Powerful Africa Native Doctor? I Mean A Spiritual Herbalist

With Great Spirit Connected To Ancestors. Call +2349053014785 Dr omonzokpia

James Is A High Voodoo Priest Master. He is a Spell Caster, Native

Doctor, Spiritual Herbalist, Powerful Sickle cell Healer, Spiritual

Astrologer, Psychic Reader, Multi Guru, Witch Doctor, Priest Of Africa

Money Ritual

Kim Worley(Greeley, Colorado, US)says...

I heard this in a song and had no idea what it meant. Googled it and this came up. Very Cool. ????????????????

Obinna(Newark Nj)says...

I want to know more meaning and significant of this name obidike in igboland

Olusola Okhiria Nee Sodunke(Newport, Newport, UK)says...

This is a great piece of history, which is dear to our hearts as people and very much appreciated.

Many thanks to the people who worked hard in the past and those who are still making efforts to keep the institution.

The labour is obviouly worth it. We are proud of you all.

A lot still to be done, with the motivation of the champions of this course, others will follow as well to maintain the institution

May God continue to keep the edifice for development of future generations to the glory of God and the benefits of our fatherland.