Delta State

Posted by Nigeria Direct on 2009/02/15 | Views: 513 |

Delta State

Governor: Emmanuel Uduaghan (PDP)

Deputy Governor: Professor Amos Agbe Utuama
Date Created: August 27, 1991

Capital: Asaba

Main Town: Agbor, Asaba, Sapele, Warri, Ughelli.

Delta State was created on August 27, 1991. It was carved out of the now defunct Bendel State.

The State comprises 25 local government areas namely: Oshimili, Aniocha, Aniocha South, Ika South, Ika North-East, Ndokwa West, Ndokwa East, Isoko south, Isoko North, Bomadi, Burutu, Ughelli South, Ughelli North, Ethiope West, Ethiope East, Sapele, Okpe, Warri North, Warri South, Uvwie, Udu, Warri Central, Ukwani, Oshimili North and Patani.

The States bordering Delta are Edo to the north, Ondo to the north-West, Anambra to the east and Rivers to the southeast. On its southern flank is the Bight of Benin.

The Major ethnic groups are Urhobo, Igbo, Ijaw, Isoko and Itsekiri. All the ethnic groups claim a common ancestry, consequently, their cultures are similar. These similarities are manifested in their religious folklores, dances, art and crafts and festivals.

The State has a tropical climate marked by two distinct seasons, the dry and rainy season. The dry season occurs from November to April and rainy season from May to October. There exists a brief dry spell in August commonly referred to as August break. From December to February, the dry harmattan wind blows over the state.

The state government accords various forms of assistance to farmers in the areas of fisheries, agriculture, forestry, veterinary services, produce planning and research. Most local governments in the state boast of fisheries extension units which cater for advisory inputs - nets, engines ropes, lead, floats and others. The state government has invested adequately in fisheries due to the natural resources which Delta State is blessed with. Fresh fish, crabs, shrimps and dried fish abound in almost all the local governments.

Delta State is also rich in major tubers and root crops such as cassava, coco yams, yam and potatoes. There are programmes initiated to encourage agriculture in the state. These include Delta Agricultural Development Programme (DADP), Task Force on communal farming, Agricultural Loan schemes to small scale farmers; Fishermen Farm Settlement Scheme, Tree Crop Unit and Livestock Production are also encouraged.

Industries in Delta State include Glass Factory at Ughelli, the African Timber and Plywood Factory, Sapele and Asaba Textile Mills.

Delta State is endowed with crude oil where it ranks second to Rivers State. The oil producing local government areas are Warri North and South, Burutu, Isoko North and South, Ughelli North and South, Okpe, Ethiope East and West, Sapele and Ndokwa East and West. The nation's second refinery as well as petrochemical plant are located in the state at Warri.

The celebration of traditional festivals are annual community affair throughout Delta State. Almost every village celebrates a traditional festival and this draws both indigenes and non-indigenes to the village. Traditional festivals normally come between March and December every year. These festivals offer occasions for re-union of members of the family, friends and well wishers from far and near. Some of the important festivals celebrated in the State are Adane Okpe, Iyeri, Edjenu, Okere Juju, Ine, Ulor, Ukwata and Ore-Uku.

Delta State boasts of quite a number of hotels for the comfort of visitors. These hotels are located in all major towns in the State.