Posted by on 2/12/2003 8:38:14 AM
Post Comment YOBE STATE Nigeria


Historical Development: Yobe State came into being on the 27th of August, 1991. It was carved out of the old Borno State by the Babangida administration. The circumstances that led to the splitting of former Borno State into Yobe and Borno are mainly two fold.

Semi- Arid Vegetation, Potiskum
Semi- Arid Vegetation, Potiskum

The former Borno State being one of the largest states in terms of land area, was simply too large for easy administration and meaningful development; and ethnic rivalry. A total of nine additional states were created at that time, bringing the total number of states in the country to thirty from twentyone. Today, Nigeria is made up of thirtysix states and a Federal Capital Territory.

Administrative Structure: The state is governed by the executive council, with the Governor as Chairman. The executive council is made up of the Governor, the Deputy Governor, the Commissioners of the various ministries and the Secretary to the state government. The ministries are: Agriculture and Natural Resources; Education; Works, Housing and Transport; Justice; Health; Finance, Economic Planning, Commerce and Tourism; Women Affairs; Environment; and Social Development, Cooperatives, Youth and Sports.

Damaturu City Gate
Damaturu City Gate

There are seventeen local government councils in the state and under the present setup, each of the LGAs is governed by a local government executive council with the Local Government Chairman as the head. Other members of the executive council include: the ViceChairman, four supervisory councillors and the Secretary of the Local Government who also serves as secretary to the council.

With the introduction of the presidential system of government which emphasises the separation of powers betwen the three arms, the Honourable Speaker is the chief executive and accounting officer of the Legislative arm, the state House of Assembly.

There are also the Deputy Speaker, the majority and minority leaders, Chief Whips of parties and other honourable members. The administrative head of the legislature is the Clerk of the House who is also the chief adviser to the Speaker. The legislative arm of government is also extended to the local government level where the legislature is headed by the leader of the House.

The Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu
The Federal Polytechnic, Damaturu

The third arm of the government is the judiciary which is headed by the Chief Judge who is also the chairman of the State Judicial Service Committee a body responsible for the appointment, promotion and discipline of judicial officers. There is also an indigenous administrative structure at the apex of which is the Council of Chiefs, made up of Emirs, District Heads, Village Heads and traditional title holders.

These are vested with the responsibility of ensuring peace, as well as preserving and promoting the culture and traditions of the people of the state. The Council also plays advisory role to the state as well as the local government. There are currently four emirates in Yobe State, namely Bade, Fika, Ngazargamo and Machina with the titles of first class emirs. The Emir of Fika is the Chairman of the Council of Chiefs. More emirates are at present being proposed.

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!