Why FG revoked licences of AIT, Silverbird, 50 other broadcast stations

August 19, 2022

THE National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has explained why it revoked the licences of African Independent Television (AIT), Silverbird Television and 50 other broadcast stations across the country.

NBC Director General Balarabe Shehu, who announced the development in a statement on Friday, said it was due to the failure of the affected stations to renew their broadcast licences amounting to N2.66 billion.

According to the Commission, a two-week waiver was given to them in May to do so after which they risked the revocation of their licences.

But three months after the publication, the NBC said some licensees are yet to pay their outstanding debts, in contravention of the National Broadcasting Commission Act CAP N11, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria, 2004, particularly Section 10(a) of the Third Schedule of the Act.

“Therefore, after due consideration, NBC hereby announces the revocation of the licenses of the stations and gives them 24 hours to shut down their operations. Our offices nationwide are hereby directed to collaborate with security agencies to ensure immediate compliance,” the statement said.

The broadcast regulator said the continued operation of the “debtor stations is illegal and constitutes a threat to national security”.

It called on other broadcast stations yet to renew their licences for the present duration to do so within the next 30 days or risk punishment.

– Advertisement –

The NBC said Friday’s list is the first batch of offenders, adding that a second batch will soon be released.

“The Commission also calls on all IPTV (Internet Protocol Television) and all other broadcast stations that are streaming online to register with the Commission to avoid disconnection.

“Broadcasters should note that having a DTT or FM license does not warrant a broadcaster to stream online; they are two different licences,” the statement added.

The Broadcasting Organisation of Nigeria (BON) has said it would work with stakeholders to resolve the matter.

Below is the full list of affected stations:

  1. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
  2. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Lagos
  3.  Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Yenagoa
  4. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Port Harcourt
  5. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communications Ltd) FM Jos
  6. Rhythm FM (Silverbird Communication Ltd) Benin
  7. AIT/Ray Power FM (DAAR Communication ltd) Network
  8. Greetings FM (Greetings Media Ltd)
  9. FM Network Tao FM (Ovidi Communications Ltd)
  10. FM Okene, Zuma FM (Zuma FM Ltd)
  11. FM Suleja Crowther FM (Crowther Communications Ltd) FM Abuja
  12. We FM (Kings Broadcasting Ltd)
  13. FM Benin Linksman International Ltd
  14. Keffi Bomay Broadcasting Services Ltd Abuja
  15. MITV (Murhi International Group Ltd) Ibadan
  16. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Port-Harcourt
  17. Classic FM (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
  18. Classic TV (Pinkt Nigeria Ltd) Lagos
  19. Beat FM (Megalectrics LTD) Lagos
  20. Cooper Communications Ltd Lagos
  21. Splash FM (West Midlands Ltd) Ibadan
  22. Osun State Broadcasting Corporation
  23. Rock City FM (Boot Communications Ltd) Abeokuta
  24. Family FM (Kalaks Investments Nig. Ltd) Ilugun
  25. Space FM (Creazioni Nig. Ltd) Ibadan
  26. Radio Jeremi (Radio Jeremi Itd) Effurun
  27. Breeze FM (Bays Water Ltd) Akure
  28. Vibes FM (Vibes Communication Ltd) Benin#
  29. Family Love FM (Multimesh Broadcasting Co. Ltd) Port-Harcourt
  30. Wave FM (South Atlantic Media Ltd)
  31. Kogi State Broadcasting Corporation
  32. Kwara State Broadcasting Corporation
  33. Niger State Broadcasting Corporation
  34. Gombe State Broadcasting Corporation
  35. Lagos State Broadcasting Corporation
  36. Ogun State Broadcasting Corporation
  37. Ondo State Broadcasting Corporation
  38. Rivers State Broadcasting Corporation
  39. Bayelsa State Broadcasting Corporation
  40. Cross River State Broadcasting Corporation
  41. Imo State Broadcasting Corporation
  42. Anambra State Broadcasting Corporation
  43. Borno State Broadcasting Corporation
  44. Yobe State Broadcasting Corporation
  45. Sokoto State Broadcasting Corporation
  46. Zamfara State Broadcasting Corporation
  47. Kebbi State Broadcasting Corporation
  48. Jigawa State Broadcasting Corporation
  49. Kaduna State Broadcasting Corporation
  50. Katsina State Broadcasting Corporation
  51. Lagos DSB
  52. Silverbird TV (Silverbird Communications Co. Ltd)

Author profile

You can reach out to me on Twitter via: vincent_ufuoma

You may be interested

For How Long Is My Motor Insurance Policy Valid?
5 shares72 views
5 shares72 views

For How Long Is My Motor Insurance Policy Valid?

Webby - September 12, 2022

When purchasing auto insurance, you can tailor many aspects, including the types of coverage you select, the amount of your…

Why I am supporting Peter Obi – Prophet El-buba

Why I am supporting Peter Obi – Prophet El-buba

Webby - September 29, 2022

By Kingsley Chukwuka Prophet Isa El-buba of the Evangelical Bible Outreach Ministries International (EBOMI), he is moved to support the…

5 world best goalkeepers revealed, none from the EPL

5 world best goalkeepers revealed, none from the EPL

Webby - September 29, 2022

The football world can easily boast of top goalies around the globe, especially in Europe. And while many football analysts…

PDP raises alarm over fresh plot to destabilize party as 2023 campaign begins

PDP raises alarm over fresh plot to destabilize party as 2023 campaign begins

Webby - September 29, 2022

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) late on Wednesday raised an alarm over fresh plots to destabilize the party as campaign…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.