Sinach, Kanye West among 2020 GMA Dove Awards Winners

November 1, 2020

“Way Maker,” written by Osinachi Kalu Okoro Egbu, won song of the year (five years after it was first recorded) at the 51st GMA Dove Awards, which aired Friday (Oct. 30) on TBN. The song has been covered by several prominent Christian music artists in the past two years, including Michael W. Smith, Mandisa and Bethel Music.

For King & Country won artist of the year. The Australian brother duo, consisting of Joel and Luke Smallbone, is the first duo ever to win in that top category.

For King & Country also won short form video of the year for “God Only Knows,” a collab with Dolly Parton. For King… is one of seven artists who won two awards this year. The others are Tauren Wells, Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Selah, Hillsong Worship, Skillet and Elevation Worship.

Parton wasn’t the only artist who is famous in the secular world to win: Kanye West won rap/hip hop recorded song of the year for “Follow God.”

Zach Williams & For King & Country Lead GMA Dove Awards Nominees With 5 Nods, Kanye West Nabs 3

Zach Williams, the 2018 artist of the year winner, won songwriter of the year (artist) for the first time. Jason Ingram took songwriter of the year (non-artist) for the second year in a row and the third time in five years.

We the Kingdom, a family quintet that originated in Nashville, won new artist of the year.

Tasha Cobbs Leonard, For King & Country & More to Perform on GMA Dove Awards.

Here’s the complete list of winners:

Artist of the year:


Song of the year:

“Way Maker”

Writer: Osinachi Kalu Okoro Egbu; Publisher: Integrity Music Europe

Songwriter of the year – artist:

Zach Williams

Songwriter of the year – non artist:

Jason Ingram

Producer of the year:

Ed Cash & Steven V. Taylor (Team)

Lauren Daigle Dominates 2019 Dove Awards

New artist of the year:

We The Kingdom

Contemporary Christian artist of the year:

Tauren Wells

Gospel artist of the year:

Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Southern gospel artist of the year:

Joseph Habedank

Inspirational film of the year:

I Still Believe

Directors: Andrew Erwin, Jon Erwin, (Producers) Kevin Downes, Andrew Erwin, Jon Erwin

Long form video of the year:

Awake (Live), Hillsong Worship

Directors: Richard Cause, Jared Chapman, Paul Martin, Samuel Irving, Steven Lester; Producers: Johnny Rays, Jessica Ico, Steven Lester

Short form video of the year:

“God Only Knows,” for KING & COUNTRY featuring Dolly Parton

Directors/producers: Ben Smallbone, Patrick Tohill

Bluegrass/country/roots album of the year:

God & Country, Jimmy Fortune

Producer: Ben Isaacs

Bluegrass/country/roots recorded song of the year:

“Ain’t No Grave,” Karen Peck & New River

Writers: Jonathan David Helser, Melissa Helser, Molly Skaggs

Children’s album of the year:

Sing: Remembering Songs, Ellie Holcomb

Producers: Nate Dugger, Brown Bannister

Choral collection of the year:

Top Anthem Collection

Creator: Johnathan Crumpton; Arrangers: Bradley Knight, Cliff Duren, Mike Speck, Marty Parks, Daniel Semsen, Gary Rhodes, Dave Williamson, Geron Davis, Tom Fettke, Russell Mauldin

Christmas/special event album of the year:

Christmas, Phil Wickham

Producer: Jonathan Smith

Contemporary gospel album of the year:

LONG LIVE LOVE, Kirk Franklin

Producers: Kirk Franklin, Shaun Martin, Maxwell Stark, Ronald Hill, S1 for SKP. Inc.

Contemporary gospel recorded song of the year:

“People,” Jonathan McReynolds

Writer: Jonathan McReynolds

Gospel worship album of the year:

Broken Record, Travis Greene

Producers: Travis Greene, Brunes Charles

Gospel worship recorded song of the year:

“Something Has to Break (Live),” Kierra Sheard, featuring Tasha Cobbs Leonard

Writers: J. Drew Sheard, Kierra Valencia Sheard, Mia Fieldes, Jonathan Smith

Inspirational album of the year:

Firm Foundation, Selah

Producers: Brent Milligan, Chris Bevins, Jason Kyle Saetveit

Inspirational recorded song of the year:

“Yet Not I But Through Christ In Me,” Selah

Writers: Michael Farren, Rich Thompson, Jonny Robinson

Instrumental album of the year:

Untitled Hymn: A Collection of Hymns (Instrumental), Chris Rice

Producers: Chris Rice, Ken Lewis

Musical of the year:

Messiah Overcame – An Easter Musical

Creators: Mike Harland, John Rowsey, (Arrangers/Orchestrators) Cliff Duren, Jim Hammerly, Christopher Phillips, Phil Nitz

Pop/contemporary album of the year:

Citizen of Heaven, Tauren Wells

Producers: Chuck Butler, Jordan Sapp, Kirk Franklin, Max Stark, Colby Wedgeworth, Rascal Flatts

Pop/contemporary recorded song of the year:

“Rescue,” Lauren Daigle

Writers: Jason Ingram, Lauren Daigle, Paul Mabury

Rap/hip hop album of the year:

MOOD // DOOM, Social Club Misfits

Producers: Young Sidechain, Dirty Rice, Cardec, Ben Lopez, Colby Wedgeworth, Tedd Tjornhom, Martin Santiago, Dave James, Rey King, Jordan Sapp

Rap/hip hop recorded song of the year:

“Follow God,” Kanye West

Writer: Kanye West

Recorded music packaging of the year:

Rescue Story (Zach Williams, not awarded to artist)

Art director/graphic artist: Tim Parker; Photographer: Eric Brown

Rock/contemporary album of the year:

Victorious, Skillet

Producers: John Cooper, Korey Cooper, Kevin Churko, Seth Mosley, Mike “X” O’Connor

Rock/contemporary recorded song of the year:

“Legendary,” Skillet

Writers: John L. Cooper, Korey Cooper, Seth Mosley

Southern gospel album of the year:

Pure Love, Legacy Five

Producers: Scott Fowler, Wayne Haun, Trey Ivey

Southern gospel recorded song of the year:

“The Power of an Empty Tomb,” The Erwins

Writer: Joel Lindsey

Spanish language album of the year:

Aleluya (En La Tierra), Elevation Worship

Producers: Chris Brown, Steven Furtick

Spanish language recorded song of the year:

“Loco Amor,” Christine D’Clario

Writers: Chris McClarney, Jacob Sooter, Ricky Jackson

Traditional gospel album of the year:

The Return, The Clark Sisters

Producers: J. Drew Sheard II, Warryn Campbell, Eric Dawkins, Mano Hanes, Rodney Jerkins, Justin Brooks, Jermaine Dupri, Damien Sneed, Kurt Carr, Karen Clark-Sheard

Traditional gospel recorded song of the year:

“I’m All In,” Maranda Curtis

Writers: Maranda Curtis, Dana Sorey, Asaph Ward

Worship album of the year:

Awake, Hillsong Worship

Producers: Michael Guy Chislett, Brooke Ligertwood, Ben Tan, Ben Tennikoff

Worship recorded song of the year:

“The Blessing (Live),” Kari Jobe, Cody Carnes, Elevation Worship

Writers: Kari Jobe Carnes, Cody Carnes, Chris Brown, Steven Furtick

Youth/children’s musical of the year:

Good News Ahead…The Signs of Christmas!

Creators: Gina Boe, Barb Dorn

You may be interested

Nigeria records N3.023tr trade deficit in Q3

Nigeria records N3.023tr trade deficit in Q3

Webby - December 7, 2021

The National Bureau of Statistics (NBS) has revealed that Nigeria recorded N3.032 trillion trade deficits in the third quarter (Q3)…

Ecobank Nigeria gets MD-designate as Akinwuntan retires

Ecobank Nigeria gets MD-designate as Akinwuntan retires

Webby - December 6, 2021

Ecobank Group, a pan-African banking group, announced on Monday that Mobolaji Lawal has been appointed as Regional Executive and Managing…

Niger, Nasarawa, Kogi, FCT communities in darkness as Abuja Disco workers begin strike

Niger, Nasarawa, Kogi, FCT communities in darkness as Abuja Disco workers begin strike

Webby - December 6, 2021

Okechukwu Nnodim, Solomon Odeniyi and Aisha Wakaso Published 7 December 2021 Power supply was grounded on Monday in Abuja, Nasarawa,…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.