Posted by on 2/6/2003 10:46:31 AM
Post Comment OSUN STATE Nigeria


Historical Development: Osun State came into existence on 27th August, 1991 with the creation of nine new states by the

International Breweries Complex, Omi Asoro
International Breweries Complex, Omi Asoro

then Federal Military Government. Pressure for the creation of Osun State had been mounted over a long period of time, informed by a desire to promote more even and rapid development of the area.

It was easy for Government to create Osun State at the time, because the area and its people satisfied the basic criteria set up by the Federal Government at that time. Osun State is located in the heartland of the Yoruba people and shares the distinctive high urbanization attributes of most parts of Yorubaland.

The official 1991 population figure for the State is 2,158,143. Some of the sizeable towns in Osun State are llesha, lwo, Ede, lleife, lkirun, lla Orangun, Modakeke, Ejigbo and Osogbo (the state capital).

Administrative Area: For administrative convenience, Osun State is divided into six zones: Osogbo, Ede, lwo, lkirun, llesha

Osogbo Steel Rolling Mill
Osogbo Steel Rolling Mill

and lleife. The following are the thirty local government areas in the State: Aiyedade, Aiyedire, Atakumosa East, Atakumosa West, Boluwaduro, Boripe, Ede South, Ede North, Egbedore, Ejigbo, lfelodun, lfe Central, lfe East, lfe North, lfe South, lla, llesha East, llesha West, Irewole, Irepodun, Isokan, lwo, Obokun, Odo Otin, Olaoluwa, Olorunda, Oriade, Orolu and Osogbo.

Administrative Structure: The administration of Osun State is organised at state and Local levels of government. At the state level, there are the Ministries of Education, Youth and Sports, Health, Finance. Agriculture, Works and Transport, Lands and Town Planning, Trade and Industries, and Women Affairs.