Search Site: OnlineNigeria


Lagos Establishes Family Courts

Posted by By Amos Fajinmi on 2008/10/18 | Views: 2356 |

Lagos Establishes Family Courts

The Lagos state judiciary has set up family courts to operate at two levels; high court and magistrate’s court.

The Lagos state judiciary has set up family courts to operate at two levels; high court and magistrate’s court.

These courts were set up to replace juvenile courts, according to a statement signed by Mrs. L.A.M Folami, Chief Registrar of the Lagos High Court.

She explained that no other court shall exercise jurisdiction in any matter relating to a child. The family courts now have jurisdiction in all civil and criminal proceedings relating to children, or in the interest of the children, she added.

The Chief Judge of Lagos state, Justice Adetula Alabi, said the establishment of family courts is expedient to enforce and consolidate all legislations relating to the protection and welfare of children in Lagos state and for other connected and incidental purposes, including child survival, child development, protection and participation.

The family courts are located at Ikeja, Lagos Island, Badagry and Epe. The Ikeja judicial division of the family court is to be presided by Hon. Justice E.O Williams-Dawodu, with Mr. Oyeneye Dada Olusegun and Mrs. Christine Adesola Talabi as assessors.

The Lagos judicial division is presided over by Hon. Justice A.J Coker, with Mrs. Fadairo Olawunmi Alaba and Mrs. Folasade Adetiba as assessors.

The family courts at the magistrate level are constituted in four magisterial districts, namely Lagos - Chief Magistrate E.B Daodu as president, with Mr. Dosumu Habei Akeem and Mrs. Gbemisola Giwa-Osagie as assessors.

Ikeja - Chief Magistrate A.A Oshoniyi as president, with Mr. Akinremi Babajide Olusola and Mrs. Adesola Omoyemi Oke as assessors.

Badagry - Chief Magistrate Okunuga, with Mr. Viavoni J. Folorunso and Mr. Toyin Gangbe as assessors.

(4) Epe/Ikorodu - Chief Magistrate Akinkugbe, with Mrs. Jaiyeola Oluwatoyin Ayoade and Mrs. Lola Adelagun as assessors.

Meanwhile, the elected members of the local government election petitions tribunal will be sworn-in today, by the Chief Judge, Justice Ade Alabi.

Read Full Story Here.... :
Leave Comment Here :

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!