Search Site: OnlineNigeria


AC sweeps Lagos LG polls

Posted by By CHIDI OBINECHE, RAZAQ BAMIDELE and REMI ADEFULU on 2008/10/13 | Views: 1853 |

AC sweeps Lagos LG polls

The ruling Action Congress (AC) Party in Lagos has won in the 57 local government areas in last Saturday’s local council polls.

The ruling Action Congress (AC) Party in Lagos has won in the 57 local government areas in last Saturday’s local council polls.

Former Chief Press Secretary to the immediate past governor of the state, Mr Kehinde Bamigbetan, won in Ejigbo council with 15,758 votes.

In Ojodu, Faleke James Abiodun also of the AC beat others with a total of 13,000 votes while, Bello Adebayo Waheed won in Egbe/Idimu with 9,294 votes. The chairman of the Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC), Justice Fatai Adeyinka has already presented the Certificates of Returns.

However, the chairmanship candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) for Ikeja Local Government area, Mr Bajo Lawanson has vowed to go to court to contest the results, saying he was rigged out in the contest.
But Publicity Secretary of AC in the state, Mr Joe Igbokwe in an interview with Daily Sun immediately after the declaration of the results said, it was free, fair and the contest in the additional 37 Local Development Areas instead of the original 20 constitutional.

Also, Lagos chapter of the Action Congress (AC) has justified its overwhelming victory in the Saturday council polls, attributing the victory to long period of preparation and dint of hard work.
Speaking with newsmen in Lagos, on Sunday, the party’s state Publicity Secretary, Chief Joe Igbokwe, said: “Political and electoral wars are fought directly on the field and not on the pages of newspapers or television/radio houses,” adding that “some opposition parties in Lagos which cried wolf where none exists were not physically on the ground but exist only on the pages of newspapers.”

Speaking further, Igbokwe also attributed the sound victory on Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola’s accomplishment in office in a very short time, asserting that what Nigerians witnessed on Saturday was manifestation of the people’s appreciation of the good work of the AC government in the state which, he said, they wanted to continue.

“We worked so hard that we had nobody to compete with,” Igbokwe stated, saying anybody who boycotted election and eventually lost out at the end of the day should not blame anybody for his or her woes.
He then thanked the media for their support saying, “like Oliver Twist, we would always ask for more.”
The winners will be sworn in this week.
Below is a breakdown of the votes polled by the winning AC candidates. Egbe/Idimu, 9,294(Bello Adebayo Waheed), Ejigbo 15,758 (Kehinde Bami-Gbetan), Ojodu 13,000 (Faleke James Abiodun), Agboyin/ Ketu 19,905 (Arobieke Christiana Yetunde),Agege 10,933 (Abdulkarim Jubril Ayodeji),Ajeromi/ Ifelodun 74,224, Amuwo-Odofin 10,874, Apapa 7,802,Apapa/Iganmu 19,795, Ayobo/Ipaja 4,802, Badagry 20,070, Badagry West 5,478, Bariga 74,224, Epe 15,740,Etiosa 12,213, Iba 12,010, Ibeju-Lekki 17,082,Odiolowo/ Ojuwoye 37,809, Ojo 15,505,Somolu 62,470, Yaba 9,414, Eredo 11,813, Agbado/Okeodo 15,112, Surulere 10,427, Victoria Island 12,459, Lagos Mainland 15,838, Itire/Ikate 9,489, Lagos Island East 19.862, Lekki (LCDA) 15,590, Mosan/Okunola 5,560, Ojokoro 21,344,Oriade 20,112, Orile Agege 14,644, Oshodi/Isolo 13,367, Ikosi/Isheri 19,847, Isolo 13,583,Coker/Aguda 9,783,Kosofe 176,940,Lagos Island (West) 18,175,Imota LCDA 4,561,Ikoyi/Obalende LCDA 9,558,Ikosi/Ejinrin 13,593,Ikorodu (West) 274,korodu (North) 3,650,Ikeja 12,393, Oto-Awori 12,286

Read Full Story Here.... :
Leave Comment Here :

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (2)

Toluwalase Samuel Olufemi(Ijebu, Ogun, Nigeria)says...

Authority belongs to God, once He decrees it is final and binding

Ikponmwosa Osamede(Edo, Nigeria)says...

Your meaning of Osamede is wrong. Osamede means God has given me a crown