Court Of Appeal

Posted by Karen White on 06/28/2016 09:05:34 AM
Post Comment Court Of Appeal Nigeria

The Nigerian courts of appeals are the intermediate appellate courts of the Nigerian federal court system.The court of appeals decides appeals from the district courts within the federal judicial system, and in some instances from other designated federal courts and administrative agencies.As at 2010, there are 66 judges of the Nigerian courts of appeals authorized by the Senate. These judges are recommended by the National Judicial Council, nominated by the President of Nigeria and confirmed by the Senate. There are currently seventy-two Nigerian courts of appeals across the six geopolitical zones of Nigeria. There are 12 North-Central, 10 in Northeast, 10 in Northwest, 10 in, 10 in South-south, 9 in Southeast and 11 in Southwestern Nigeria.The headquarter is located at Three Arms Zone, Abuja.

Judicial councils such as the National Judicial Council (Nigeria) are bodies that are concerned with making "necessary and appropriate orders for the effective and expeditious administration of justice" within the court.Among their responsibilities are judicial discipline, the formulation of policies and implementation of such policies.

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!