Posted by on 2/5/2003 12:37:10 PM
Post Comment NASSARAWA STATE Nigeria


Historical Development: Nassarawa State came into existence on the 1st of October, 1996. It was carved out of Plateau

Local Pottery Products (Eggon)
Local Pottery Products (Eggon)

State. The creation of Nassarawa State, as it is now, is the result of many years of agitation arising from strong political feelings of marginalisation and neglect.

The present Nassarawa State had formed the bulk of what was the southern part of former Plateau State comprising ten local governments, namely Akwanga, Awe, Doma, Karu, Keffi, Lafia, Nassarawa, Nassarawa Eggon, Obi and Toto. The State occupies a total land area of 27,137.8sq. km.

Administrative Areas: At its creation in October 1996, Nassarawa State had ten local gov ernment areas (LGAs). The state capital was located at Lafia. By November 1996, three more local government areas were created thus giving a total of thirteen local government areas in the State (see Table 25.1). The three new local government areas created in 1996 are Keana (out of Awe), Kotona.

Mararaba Roundabout, Lafia
Mararaba Roundabout, Lafia

Administrative Structure: Following the provisions of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, the administrative structure of the Nassarawa State government comprises the Executive, Legislative and Judicial arms. The Executive arm is headed by the Governor.

The State Executive Council is made up of the Governor, his Deputy, the Secretary to the state if government and all commissioners. They are responsible for policy directives, implementation strategies and the actual implementation for approved programmes and projects. Nassarawa State currently has eleven ministries and eleven commissioners, who are the political heads of these ministries .

Some of these miniistries have parastatals under them. These are normally headed by General Managers or Directors and enjoy a reasonable level of autonomy in terms of financial and administrative management in order to facilitate programme effectiveness. The entire civil service is under the control of the executive arm for the day to day and routine administration the state.

Lafia City Gate
Lafia City Gate

The Legislature, i.e. State House of Assembly, has twentytwo members. Its leadership is made up of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker, the Clerk of the House, Majority Leader, Minority Leader, and the Majority and Minority Whips. It is responsible for making laws for the good governance of the State and the supervision of the executive arm. The Judiciary, on the other hand, is made up of the state High Court, magistrate courts and area courts in the descending order. The Chief Judge heads this arm of the government.

The Local Governments in Nassarawa State are thirteen in number, and provide the lower tier of government in the state. Each is headed by a Chairman, a deputy Chairman and Councillors who are also democratically elected. Indigenous traditional institutions of authority exist alongside the state and local government councils.

Nassarawa State Specialist Hospital, Lafia
Nassarawa State Specialist Hospital, Lafia

They also provide leadership and facilitate community administration especially at the grassroots level. These are emirates, headed by Emirs and Chiefdoms headed by other traditional rulers. The emirates are Lafia, Keffi, and Nassarawa, headed by Emirs and they are all first class Chiefs.

The Andoma of Doma, the Aen Eggon of NassarawaEggon, the Chum Mada of Akwanga, and the Osana of Keana are the other first class Chiefs in the state. The Emir of Lafia is the Chairman of the Nassarawa State Traditional Council, while the leading Chief in each local government acts as the Chairman of the Local Traditional Council.

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!