Search Site: OnlineNigeria


The Federal Legislature

Posted by on 10/5/2002 4:37:47 PM | Views: 817 |

The Federal Legislature

The highest law-making body of the Federation is the National Assembly. The Assembly is made up of an upper House known as the Senate and a lower house known as the House of Representatives.

The Senate, is headed by a Senate President, who is supported by a Deputy Senate President. It consists of three members from each State of the Federation and one member from the Federal Capital Territory. Thus, the Senate has a total of 109 members. The House of Representatives is presided over by the Speaker of the House supported by a Deputy Speaker

The National Assembly has responsibility for making laws for the good governance of the Federation. Each of the Houses of the Assembly is made up of several specialised Committees whose work focus on aspects of national life. All members of the Assembly, in accordance with the Constitution, are required to sit for a minimum of 181 days in a year.

The Power of the National Assembly to make laws is exercised through bills passed by both the Senate and the House of Representatives, and assented to by the President. A bill may originate from either house of the Assembly but cannot become law until it has been passed by both Houses and assented to by the President.

When a bill from the Assembly is presented to the President for his assent, the Constitution stipulates that the President shall, within 30 days thereafter, signify that his assents or withholds assent. And if the President withholds his assent and the bill is again . passed by two-thirds majority in each House, such a bill becomes law, requiring no further presidential assent.