Posted by on 2/5/2003 11:18:30 AM
Post Comment LAGOS STATE Nigeria


Historical Development: Lagos State was created on May 27th, 1967 by virtue of the State (Creation and Transitional

First story building in Nigeria, Badagry
First story building in Nigeria, Badagry

Provisions) Decree No. 14 of 1967 which restructured Nigeria into a Federation of twelve states. However, Lagos as a trading port has a recorded history dating back to the Portuguese explorers of the 16th century.

The State is composed of the old Federal Territory of Lagos which remains the financial hub and was the Federal Capital of Nigeria (up to December 12, 1991), and the old Colony Province of the defunct Western Region of Nigeria comprising Badagry, Ikeja, Ikorodu and Epe Divisions.

Lagos State has not been affected by subsequent state creation exercises and, today, it forms one of the 36 states making up the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Situated in the southwestern corner of the country, this elongated state spans the Guinea coast of the Atlantic Ocean for over 180km., from the Republic of Benin on the west to its boundary with Ogun state in the east. It extends approximately from latitude 62'North to 64'North, and from longitude 245'East to 420'East. Of its total area of 3,577sq. km., about 787sq. km. or 22 percent is water.

Administrative Areas: When the State was created in 1967, it inherited two systems of local government: (a) the city of Lagos with a single council, i.e. the Lagos City Council, and (b) the system existing in the colony province of the former Western Region in which there were two divisional councils, twelve district and four local councils.

Relics of the Slave Trade, Badagry
Relics of the Slave Trade, Badagry

A review that harmonised the two systems came into force in August 1971, featuring seven local/admin istrative units: Lagos City Council (Allpurpose), Ikorodu District Council (Allpurpose), Awori/Ajeromi District Council, EgunAwori District Council, Epe District Council (Allpurpose), Ikeja District Council, and Mushin Town Council.

However, although Lagos State has been unaffected by subsequent state creation exercises in the country since the late 1970s, its local government structure, along with those of other states in the Federation, has been reorganised about six times after 1971.

These reorganisations resulted in the following numbers of local government areas overtime: eight in 1976; twentythree in 1982; back to eight in 1983; twelve in 1989; fifteen in 1991; and twenty in 1996. The current local units which have existed since 1996 along with their respective headquarter locations.

Administrative Structure: Under the national constitution, Lagos State Government is made up of: The Executive: The Governor, his deputy and the Commissioners in his cabinet who head the various Ministries; The Legislature: The Law makers who are elected members of the State House of Assembly; The judiciary: The judges and magistrates who adjudicate cases in the State's law courts under the Chief judge.

Relics of the Slave Trade, Badagry
Relics of the Slave Trade, Badagry

The Executive Arm of Government features the most complex subdivisions which include the offices of the executive Governor, the Deputy Governor and the Commissioners of sixteen ministries as well as the Special Duties Office .

The Judiciary comprises the offices of the State Chief Judge, Chief Registrar, two Deputy Registrars, who are responsible for the administration of Justice in the various categories of courts in the state.

The State House of Assembly, comprising forty elected Members from all over the state is headed by the Speaker. Other Officers of the House are the Deputy Speaker, Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Minority Leader, Chief Whip, Deputy Chief Whip, Minority Whip. The House is overwhelmingly made up of one political party, .

The Alliance for Democracy (AD). There is also an indigenous administrative structure represented by the Lagos State Council of Obas and Chiefs. Up to the early 1990s, the Council was made up of 18 members; currently (year 2000), the Chairman of the Council is the Oba of Lagos. There are four ViceChairmen, one each from the erstwhile Ikorodu, Badagry, Ikeja and Epe Divisions of the State.