Posted by on 1/30/2003 12:42:14 PM
Post Comment JIGAWA STATE Nigeria


Historical Development: Jigawa Statelies between latitudes 11N and 13N and longi tudes 8E and 1035'E and covers a total land area of about 22,41 Osq. km.The state is bordered on the west by Kano State, on the east by Bauchi and Yobe States and on the north by Katsina and Yobe States and by the Republic of Niger.

Jigawa Cultural Troupe, Dutse
Jigawa Cultural Troupe, Dutse

The state came into being on Tuesday August 27, 1991, when the Federal government announced the creation of nine additional states in the country to bring the total number of states then to thirty. This announcement was given a legal backing through the State Creation and Transitional Provisions Decree No. 37 of 1991. Jigawa State was excised from Kano State.

In a speech marking the creation of Jigawa State, along with its sister states, the then president of Nigeria, General lbrahim Babangida, listed the principles that informed the creation of the new states as those of development, social justice and a balanced federation. In elaboration, the President said that a number of factors were considered in the creation of new states in the country.

These included: The realignment of boundaries of the old colonial provinces as at 1960/61 in line with the recommendations of the Political Bureau; The expressed wishes of the people and the communities based on common sociocultural ties and institutions.

The historical association of the commu nities at the time of independence from colonial rule; Geographical contiguity, especially the need to avoid the 'divide and rule' syndrome inherent in the present power structure and resource allocation; and The need to achieve a measure of rela tive balance in population and resource distribution.

Administrative Structure: Jigawa State, with its capital at Dutse, has twentyseven local government areas (LGAs). These include Dutse, Birnin Kudu, Gwaram, Kiyawa, Gumel, Maigatari, Hadejia, Ringirn, Bimiwa, Kirikasamma, Malam Madori, Jahun, Kafin Hausa, Kazaure, Roni, Babura and Garki.

Hadejia Valley Irrigation Project
Hadejia Valley Irrigation Project

These first seventeen LGAs were inherited from the old Kano State. Four new ones, namely Kaugama, Sule Tankarkar, Taura and Gwiwa were created along with others in the country on 27th August and on 23rd September 1991. The other six local governments came into being sequel to the creation of new states and local governments by the administration of General Sani Abacha, in November, 1996.

These are 'Yankwashi, Gagarawa, Auyo, Buji, Miga and Guri. Jigawa State is governed by an executive coun cil, with an elected governor as the Chairman. The Executive Council is made up of the Governor, the deputy Governor, the commissioners of the eight ministries and the Secretary to the state government.

The ministries are Education, Agriculture, Health and Social Welfare, Finance, Justice, Water Resources, Information, Tourism and Culture, and Ministry of Local Government and Community Development. However, for equitable development in the state, the present civilian administration decided to relocate the headquarters of these ministries to the five emirates.

These are Education (Kazaure Emirate), Agriculture (Hadejia Emirate), Health and Social Welfare (Bimin Kudu in Dutse Emirate), Justice and Water Resources (Ringirn Emirate). The remaining three Ministries left in the capital Finance; Information, Tourism and culture; and Local Government and Community Development.

Each of the twentyseven Local Government Councils in the state is governed by a Local Government Executive Council with the Local Government Chairman as the head. Other mem bers of the Executive Council include, the vice Chairman, four Supervisory Councillors and the Secretary of the local government who also serves as the secretary to the council.

Irrigation Agriculture, Hadejia Valley
Irrigation Agriculture, Hadejia Valley

With the current presidential system of govern ment which emphasises the separation of powers between the three arms, the Legislative arm is headed by the Speaker as the chief executive. There are also the Deputy Speaker, the Majority and Minority leaders, Chief whips of both parties and other honourable members.

The legislative structure is also extended to the local government level, where the legislature is headed by the leader of the House. The third arm of government is the Judiciary, which is headed by the honourable Chief Judge who is also the chairman of the judicial service committee, a body which is responsible for the appointment, promotion and discipline of judicial officers.

Indigenous structure: The state is divided into five emirates each administered by a traditional ruler called Emir. These emirates are: Hadejia, Kazaure, Gumel, Ringirn and Dutse. The emirs are assisted by district heads, village heads and ward heads. The Emirs and district heads, unlike other functionaries, do not exercise political power but serve as custodians of culture and advisers to the government on traditional affairs. They are quite influential in mobilising people in their various emi rates and districts.