Posted by on 1/29/2003 1:43:29 PM

Education: In 1992, the State had a total of 869 primary schools, with a pupil population of 520,599 and with 12,437 teachers. Secondary schools numbered 290 with student population of 174,936 and 6,683 teaching staff. In 1999, the total

Pictorial Exhibition
Pictorial Exhibition

number of primary schools increased to 1,009 with a pupil population of 351,073 and an increased teaching staff of 15,296.

The secondary schools number 313 with 8,213 teaching staff. Other sec ondary educational institutions include two teacher training colleges and six technical colleges. There are three tertiary institutions in the state viz: (1) Delta State University, Abraka with two other campuses at Oleh (Law faculty) and AwainAsaba (Agriculture) and with a total academic strength of 976; (2) College of Education, Warri with academic staff strength of 424 and, (3) College of Education, Agbor with a teaching staff of 397. Several private schools exist in the state.

They include 378 Nursery/Primary schools, 195 Secondary Commercial schools, and four vocational schools with the three currently functional ones located at Ozoro, Warri and Asaba. Also, there is one school for the handicapped at Asaba. Adult and Nonformal education is given atten tion in Delta State.

There are 359 centres for Adult and Nonformal education with 628 instructors: each class has one supervisor and between two to five facilitators, depending on the number and the area. Basic and postliteracy classes are held to train the beneficiaries in artisanship, craftsmanship, house management, weaving, hairdressing, et cetera.

Health Facilities: In 1992, there were twenty six hospitals under the Delta State Hospital Management Board. By 1999, the number of hos pitals increased to thirtyfive. These include four general hospitals at Asaba, Warri, Sapele and Agbor; and fifteen government hospitals situated all over the state.

There are five cottage hospitals and one tuberculosis hospital (T.B.I.) at Eku. On the whole, the total number of beds in the 35 hospitals is 1,407. There are 116 government maternity homes. Health institutions established by agencies other than the state government include forty-one hospitals, 255 health centres and 137 maternity homes.

Transportation And Communication: There are three modes of transportation in Delta State, namely, road, water and air.

Inner Compound of Chief Nana's Palace
Inner Compound of Chief Nana's Palace

The road network is made up of trunks A, B and C roads, with total length of 653 km, 1,914.16 km and 1,192.65 km, respectively. There are three major trunk A roads in the state i.e roads that link state capitals and are being maintained by the federal government.

They are Warri Benin roads, Benin Agbor Asaba road and Warri Port- harcourt roads. The first two trunk A roads are currently being converted into the dual carriageway, because of their strategic importance to the nation's economy. The southwest and the southeast of Delta State comprising WarriNorth, WarriSouth, Warri South West, Burutu, Bomadi and Patani are mainly riverine and the mode of transport is by water. Water transportation for both goods and passengers involves oceangoing ships, inland water ways passenger craft, inland water way cargo tugs, offshore passengers craft, offshore cargo tugs, house boats, barges and dugout canoes.

The operation of these boats is under the management of both private and public agencies such as Nigerian Port Authority Pie and Delta Boat Company. The six ports along the Delta coast are Warri, Sapele, Burutu, Koko, Escravos and Forcados. There is no public airport, but there are private airstrips that are mostly used by oil compa nies.

They include Escravos (Chevron), Forcados (ShellBP) Warri, AgbaraUtor (lbru) Ughelli and Aviara. Postal services, radio and television among others form the channels of communication network in Delta State. The postal services are carried out in twentyone post offices and subpost offices and 100 postal agencies. This is supported by speed post services such as DHL, IAS, EMS, UPS, et cetera. In addition to the foregoing channels of communication, the state receives all newspapers published in the country as well as international magazines.

Tourism and Recreation: The tourist attrac tions include Chief Nana's Palace at Koko and the ancient palace of Olu of Warri at Odeltsekiri, the lyada valley in OgwashiUku and the source of River Ethiope at Umuaja (Appendix IV). The recre ational facilities are mainly sporting facilities available in schools and stadia, located in many towns like Asaba, Warri, Sapele and Agbo. Amusement parks are also being developed at lbusa.

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first!