Posted by Nigeria Direct on 2009/02/15 | Views: 822 |

Governor: Oserheimen Osumbor (PDP)

Date Created: August 27, 1991.

Capital: Benin City

Main Towns: Benin City, Ubiaja, Auchi, Abudu, Uromi, Irrua, Ewu, Okpella, Ekpoma, Uzebba, Afuze, Ibillo, Urhonigbe, Sabongida-Ora, Igarra.

Edo State shares boundaries with three other states of the federation. It is bounded on the north and the east by Kogi State, on the west by Ondo State and on the south by Delta State. Generally, it is a low-lying area except in the north where it is marked by undulating hills.

There are 18 local government areas in the State namely: Esan North-East, Esan Central, Esan West, Egor, Ukpoba-Central, Etsako Central, Igueben, Oredo, Ovia SouthWest, ovia South-East, Orhionwon, Uhunmwonde, Etsako East and Esan South-East. The State is made up of the following ethnic groups: Edo, Esan, Etsako, Owan and Akoko Edo.

Edo State is endowed with abundant natural resources. The principal mineral resources include crude oil, natural gas, clay chalk, marbles and limestone .

Agriculture is the predominant occupation of people in this State. The major cash crops produced are rubber, cocoa and palm produce. In addition, the State produces such crops as yams, cassava; rice, plantains, guinea-corn, and assorted types of fruits and vegetables.

Industrial enterprises in the State are Bendel Cement Company, Okpella, Bendel Brewery, Benin City, Bendel Pharmaceutical PLC, Benin City, and Bendel Feed and Flour Mills, Ewu. Other small-scale industries abound.

The role of education in the development of any nation cannot be over-emphasized hence the State Government gives it utmost importance. To this end, there are many approved primary and secondary schools scattered all over the state. The State also has one Women Education Centre in Benin city, a special Education `Unit in Benin City, one Teacher Training College, four Technical Colleges and a College of Education, Ekiadolor, Benin City. At the tertiary level, Edo State has Edo State University, Ekpoma and the University of Benin, Benin City. Their is also the Igbenedion University in Okada and Bishop Idahosa University -Benin City

Health facilities are fairly distributed throughout the state. There are about 20 government hospitals and many health centres. As a practical demonstration of the official recognition which government accords the practice of traditional medicine in the overall health care delivery system, Edo State has given the traditional doctors opportunity to contribute to health care in the State. In terms of health related man-power training institutions, Edo State has a School of Midwifery, one School of Health Technology and one School of Nursing, all in Benin City. These institutions train the required paramedical staff for both the curative and preventive health care delivery services.

Edo State has a rich cultural heritage. Benin City, the state capital is famous for its unique bronze, brass and ivory works of arts which are found all over the world in museums. Tourist attractions in the State are the Royal Palace of Benin,Benin Museum, Benin Moat (Iya), Emotan Status, Somorika Hills in Akoko-Edo. Others are Udo Tourist Centre in Esan East local government area and Okomu Wildlife Sanctuary near Benin City.

For the comfort of visitors, good hotels abound all over the State