Bayelsa State

Posted by Nigeria Direct on 2009/02/15 | Views: 751 |

Bayelsa State
Governor: Timipre Sylva (PDP)
Created: October 1, 1996

Capital: Yenagoa

Main Towns: Yenagoa, Sagbama, Obi, Kauama, Oloibiri, Ogbla, Oporama, Koluama, Brass, Opokuma.

Bayelsa State was created out of Rivers State on the October 1, 1996. It is bounded to the north by Delta State, to the east by Rivers States, to the south and the west by creeks and rivers spreading through the Atlantic Ocean. There are nine local government areas in the state. They are Yenagoa, Sagbama, Ekeremor, Southern Ijaw, Ogbia, Brass, Nembe, Kolokuma/Opokuma and Kembe.

The main occupation of the people of Bayelsa are fishing and farming.

Bayelsa State has industries like Ahoada and Yenagoa Industrial Estates; and a host of other oil companies which help in generating income for the state.

In the educational sector, the state has a lot of primary, secondary and some government tertiary institutions. Private schools are also established to encourage and improve education.

To ensure adequate health care delivery, government has established general hospitals and health centres while private clinics are encouraged.

Culturally, Bayelsa State is richly endowed. Tourist attractions include its numerous beaches, fishing festivals, the canoe war displays and boat regattas and dances.

Add Comment

* Required information
Captcha Image

Comments (11)

Ulunma akor(Imo, Lagos, Nigeria)says...

Ulunma means beautiful second daughter


Do You Need A Powerful Africa Native Doctor? I Mean A Spiritual Herbalist

With Great Spirit Connected To Ancestors. Call +2349053014785 Dr omonzokpia

James Is A High Voodoo Priest Master. He is a Spell Caster, Native

Doctor, Spiritual Herbalist, Powerful Sickle cell Healer, Spiritual

Astrologer, Psychic Reader, Multi Guru, Witch Doctor, Priest Of Africa

Money Ritual

Kim Worley(Greeley, Colorado, US)says...

I heard this in a song and had no idea what it meant. Googled it and this came up. Very Cool. ????????????????

Obinna(Newark Nj)says...

I want to know more meaning and significant of this name obidike in igboland

Olusola Okhiria Nee Sodunke(Newport, Newport, UK)says...

This is a great piece of history, which is dear to our hearts as people and very much appreciated.

Many thanks to the people who worked hard in the past and those who are still making efforts to keep the institution.

The labour is obviouly worth it. We are proud of you all.

A lot still to be done, with the motivation of the champions of this course, others will follow as well to maintain the institution

May God continue to keep the edifice for development of future generations to the glory of God and the benefits of our fatherland.